12/12: The Plan….. Day 1 + Recipe 1

Image

The What:  Call me crazy but I’m committing to running in 12 races/ runs in 12 months.  It will be variety of runs (short, long, fun, gruelling) supporting a variety of causes.  This Blog is where I’ll be tracking my progress and will have links to all of the donation pages for anyone wishing to donate to any of the amazing causes these races support.  I’ll document the good days the bad days and knowing Vancouver the downright rainy days, as well as sharing my other passion for baking and any other little tidbits along the way!

The Why: It’s exactly a year this month that I graduated from University and Varsity Soccer and hung up my boots (for now).   Now I’m feeling it’s time to refocus on a new goal.  This past year I ran in the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation’s Run for the Cure and was blown away by the support of my friends and family in helping me exceed my donation goal for this cause that is so close to my heart.  What was even more exciting was convincing my mom to run with me, she ended up being one of the top fundraisers in Canada and we had a blast (I even met Trevor Linden)!

The List: Here are all the run’s and any suggestions for other great events is appreciated!  If they’re highlighted it means that I’m registered and committed (EEEK)!

1. The Sun Run– 10 KM

April, 21st : Vancouver

2. The Salmon Run-10 KM

April: Haida Gwaii

3. 5/10 KM Port Hardy

4. 5/10 KM Cranbrook

5. 5/10 KM Agassiz

6. Rush Vancouver- 6 Hour Race and Urban Scavenger Hunt Benefiting the BC Lung Association

June 15th: Vancouver

To donate visit: https://www.kintera.org/faf/donorReg/donorPledge.asp?ievent=1031980&supId=381692207

7. Scotiabank Vancouver Half Marathon- 13.1 Miles

June 23rd: Vancouver

8. Disneyland Tinkerbell Half Marathon- 13.1 Miles

January 20th: LA

9. CIBC Run for the Cure Benefiting Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation- 5 km

October 6th: Vancouver

 

So here we go! Day 1 of 365 days to do the 12/12…….

IMG_153670 days left

Training has begun! 70 days until the 2013 Scotiabank Van 1/2 marathon, which means it’s time to get those legs running outside again

warm up run in the sun to kick off the #WSSF #Whistler

Last night I got up to a little experimental baking and here are the results!

Quinoa Apple Bites:

Combine in a large bowl:

1 Cup Quinoa cooked in Light Coconut Milk

1 Cup Quick Oats

Combine in a medium bowl:

1/3 Cup Whisked Egg Whites

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar

Splash of Vanilla

Sprinkle of Cinnamon and Nutmeg

2 Cups of Chopped Apples (I used Lady Alice apples as they hold their texture when baked)

Mix the wet ingredients with the Quinoa and Oats.

Spoon into a greased muffin tin and Bake at 350 Degrees until golden and crisp!

IMG_1535

One thought on “12/12: The Plan….. Day 1 + Recipe 1

Leave a Reply

