The Elusive Active Commute

Standard

4:57- I realize my hand is sticky form an unknown substance on the bar I’ve been grasping to hold myself up for the last 45 minutes. Yuck.

4:57 and 30 seconds- In an attempt to not get mauled by the hoards of people getting off the bus I step to my right; the man to my right proceeds to cough his phlegmly cough in my face

4:58: Get mauled anyways by a new influx of transit riders.

5:00: As I stand sandwiched into a commuter mosh pit known in Vancouver as any bus between 3-6pm…  I wonder…. why didn’t I just run home today?

I’ve made it a habit to run home from work whenever possible.  The first time was because one afternoon I didn’t have bus money, was feeling exceptionally energetic after sitting at a desk all day, and thought  “hey I could run home..it was be a good challenge”. It turns out it’s not as much of a challenge as I had thought (as long as it’s not pouring rain or sleeting… but more on that another time)!

My office is under the Iron Workers Memorial Bridge in North Van and my house is in Kits.  If I leave my office and get a little help from the SeaBus it turns out I get home within 5 minutes of the time it would take me to bus.

Now I ask you what does this tell you about Vancouver?

Two things.  the first being that Vancouver traffic is atrocious, which is something anyone living here already knows, and the second is that Public Transit in Vancouver is not as Rapid as the city might like to believe it is. Another thing anyone who’s ever tried bussing around Vancouver also already knows.

Running home from work is now one of my favorite things and here are the top  5  6 reasons why I feel my Active Commute is better than bussing any day :

1.  Multi-taskng: workout and commute all in one Bam!

2. It takes basically the same amount of time to run home (with the help of the SeaBus) to either bus or drive home.  (And I won’t get road rage from sitting at the same red light for 10 minutes, or catch a mystery disease from the transit line)

3.  I get to watch the sunset as I roll over the Burrard Street Bridge

4.  The feeling of accomplishment to look back across the city as I come up the hill in Kits and see the Iron Workers Bridge soooooo far away is a truly awesome feeling

5.  Throwing a shout out to Connor Meakin here… the whole Vancouver runners high-fiving each other downtown, on the bridges and in Kits is always the best way to finish off not only a run but also a long day or week at the office.

6. It’s FREEE!! As transit and gas prices continue to rise it will always cost me nada to run.  Well that’s not entirely true, it costs the price of the SeaBus if I take the short route, but it costs absolutely nothing if I hike it over to the Lions Gate Bridge

So here’s to ditching the stinky public busses, throwing on some runners and some tunes and literally hoofing it to home sweet home

.

Leave a Reply

