A Day Full of Firsts: Sun Run 2013

Standard
this is the only picture my face isn't in severe pain... must be at the start gate

this is the only picture my face isn’t in severe pain… must be at the start gate

First Official run of the year complete! And completed in style if I don’t say so myself.  Not necessarily in the style I’d like to start the run season though…

The day had its highlights and low lights which made for a Sun Run I won’t soon forget.   The day started out great, after getting hooked up with Sun Run VIP passes through work I was treated to a pre-run breakfast at the Hyatt hotel with the media and elite athletes.  I was able to bribe my boyfriend to be my running buddy by offering to take him to the Hyatt’s free breakfast before the race and a full buffet after the run was over back at the Hyatt courtesy of the great Sun Run organizers. After sampling the great spread we headed to the VIP start line.  After taking a wrong turn and sprinting to get into the correct start corral we found ourselves in the starting gates amongst the elite athletes and right behind the Kenyans.

As the gun fires the Kenyans take off … and I mean they take off at what looks to me like a full sprint!  I couldn’t even keep their pace for 1km let alone 10km.  I settle into a good pace being pulled into a bit of a quicker pace than usual due to the caliper of the athletes around me.

I’m feeling good coming into 1.5km and then I start choking, the cool wind is getting caught in my throat and I can’t seem to get a breath no matter how hard I try.  Having played soccer all my life I’m used to being physically challenged but I’ve never had my throat seize up like this before, I now have sympathy for all the asthma sufferers out there.  I can hear myself wheezing and so can everyone around me (I apologize to all the runners around me!), Elliott @welliott_marsh is concerned that I’ve sucked in a bug or am literally just going to drop dead beside him as we run along into English Bay.  I just can’t stop though; my stubborn personality gets in the way and I won’t let myself stop and not finish the race. I guess the coldmedication I had been using to mask my cold for the past several days finally wore off and I was left in a full blown bronchial spasm.  Oh Joy!

The last 5km was a pure grind, without any air to get any kick to push the pace it just ground my gears that people were passing me and I couldn’t hunt them down in the last 3 km like I usually would.

I have never been so happy to see the balloons signaling the finish line.. that 10km proved to be much more challenging than even any of the half marathons I’ve done in the past.  It just shows how the smallest differences in how you feel physically combined with environmental factors can make a huge difference to your race outcome, or at least your outlook on how the race went.  My race buddy deserves a huge shout out as he kept me going and although he could have taken off and gotten a much better time he stayed at my pace and graciously took my grumpy wheezing abusive. And to think there was a point in our relationship where we literally couldn’t run down the block together without it being a massive competition and ending in someone huffing about having “lost the race” even if we weren’t intentionally racing.  So completing the run together was a great success!

After a quick trip to the Med Tent (that was a first ever!) in order to try to get a puffer (unsuccessfully) we decided to head back to the Hyatt for the post run brunch, but not before witnessing a runner go into full-blown shock beside me.  #RocDoc took good care of the shock victim not to worry.

Back at the Hyatt we indulged in the best brunch I have ever had! From an ice cream bar and make your own oatmeal bar to make your own eggs benny and all the foods in between a highlight for me had to be the granola crusted French toast with warm maple syrup and bananas foster.  It’s a recipe I’ll be trying as soon as possible! Stay posted for the results!

Spotted: Simon Whitfield at the Ice Cream and smoothie bar post race

All in all a solid time for the first of the year: Sun Run 10km = 42:54 

turned out to be good enough for 27th place in my age division (19-24 year old females) but with plenty of room for improvement.  Still trying to beat the incredible times that Jess and Stef posted back in 05’ … I’m coming for your records girls, Timmy’s doughnut and coffee in hand and all!

Off the Cranbrook in the AM to do some local health screenings and participate in the Akisqnuk community 10km run/walk!  Can’t wait!

Final thought: It was amazing to see the sea of Blue and Yellow runners in support of the Boston Marathon #BostonStrong #runninglove #truth

 “Light is always stronger than Darkness”

#SunRun2013 #SunRun

this is an accurate description of how I felt during that race.  Wishing I was at the finish line or was able to get a breath in!

this is an accurate description of how I felt during that race. Wishing I was at the finish line or was able to get a breath in!

Leave a Reply

